Friday, February 5, 2016

Jetboy - Feel the Shake (1988)

Country: USA
Year: 1988
Line-up: Mickey Finn (vocals), Fernie Rod (guitars), Billy Rowe (guitars), Sam Yaffa (bass), Ron Tostenson (drums)

Track Listing:

1.  Feel The Shake  4:28
2.  Make Some Noise  3:45
3.  Bad Disease  4:09
4.  Fire In My Heart  3:34
5.  Hometown Blues  5:15
6.  Locked In A Cage  3:04
7.  Talkin'  4:05
8.  Hard Climb  4:13
9.  Bloodstone  3:48
10.  Snakebite  3:40

Fletchanator's comment: This is the debut effort from late-80s Sunset Strip regulars Jetboy, another band who were big in the Cali scene but never really broke out on the national or international stage. With ex-Hanoi Rocks bassist Sam Yaffa twanging the strings, this release has a similar mix of glam rock, punk asthetics and blues riffs to that legendary Finnish band. Throw Hanoi Rocks, LA Guns, The Cult and Cinderella into a pot and you've got Jetboy (just don't expect the raspy vocals that were popular on the Strip back in those days, Mickey Finn's vocals are cleaner than that). Great stuff, especially the opening track, which kicks butt!


No comments: