Monday, February 1, 2016

Skid Row - Matt Fallon demos (1986)

Country: USA
Year: 1986
Line-up: Matt Fallon (vocals), Dave "the Snake" Sabo (guitars), Scotti Hill (guitars), Rachel Bolan (bass), Rob Affuso (drums)

Track Listing:
1.  Midnite/Tornado
2.   Forever
3.  18 & Life
4.  Youth Gone Wild
5.  Rattlesnake Shake 
6.  Rescue You
7.  Walk With a Stranger

Fletchanator's comment: Following on from yesterday's posting of the Reckless Youth CD, here is another piece of Skid Row history - the demos recorded with original singer Matt Fallon. He was of course replaced by 18-year-old Sebastian Bach and the rest is history.
It's definitely interesting to hear some of the band's biggest hits (18 & Life, Youth Gone Wild) how they originally sounded. Fallon doesn't have the pipes that Seb does, but that doesn't mean he's a bad singer. His voice is okay, it's just hard to compare him with one of the most talented hard rock singers of all time.
What is apparent from listening to these demos is that the songs that ended up on the self-titled debut album three years later were already written three years earlier and didn't change much except for inserting Bach's voice. I think this debunks the "Sebastian Bach WAS Skid Row" argument, because the songwriting was great before he joined the band. Sure, his voice elevated the band to dizzy heights, but credit needs to go to Bolan and Sabo for their kickass songs.
As for Fallon (who had briefly fronted Anthrax in 1984), after Skid Row he toiled away in relative obscurity, playing in a number of New Jersey bands (including Fallon) but never reached stardom.


No comments: