Thursday, September 1, 2016

50SHR #41: Zion (South Dakota)


Band: Zion
Release: Thunder From The Mountain
Year: 1989
Line-up: Rex Scott (vocals, rhythm guitar), David Moore (lead guitar), Marlin Saner (bass), Tommy Bozung (drums).

Track Listing:
1.     Who Pulls the Strings     04:27    
2.     Kick in the Gates     03:18    
3.     Is It a Crime     05:28    
4.     Help Me     03:10      
5.     Thrillseeker     03:17      
6.     Sold You a Lie     04:23      
7.     Roll the Rock     03:46      
8.     Less of Me     04:32      
9.     He Loves You     03:51

Fletchanator's comment: The names of this band and album, coupled with the LP cover art, are clues to Zion's driving force. This Christian rock band was formed in Sioux Falls, South Dakota in 1981. They underwent a few line-up changes - including Rex Scott moving from behind the drumkit to take over lead vocals and rhythm guitar - and released a handful of singles and demos before getting their big break and heading to Seattle to record this album.
Unfortunately that big break never amounted to much. The story goes that the record label push they were promised instead went to fellow Christian rockers Holy Soldier and soon after Scott left to front the band X-Sinner. By 1992 Zion had called it quits, although they had a reunion in the early 2000s and Retrospect Records released a compilation of old material in 2007.
Whether you're Christian or not, you owe it to yourself to check it out as it's simply awesome melodic hard rock. Their sound reminds me of a mix of Quiet Riot, Sammy Hagar, KISS and Firehouse. Check it out!

No comments: