Thursday, January 7, 2016

London - Don't Cry Wolf (1986)

Country: USA
Year: 1986
Line-up: Nadir D'Priest (vocals), Lizzie Grey (guitars), Brian West (bass), Wallin' J Morgan (drums), David Carr (keyboards).

Track listing:

1.  Drop The Bomb  
2.  Set Me Free  
3.  Hit And Run Lover  
4.  Under The Gun  
5.  Oh Darling  (Beatles cover)
6.  Fast As Light  
7.  Put Out The Fire  
8.  Killing Time  
9.  We Want Everything  
10.  For Whom The Bell Tolls  

Requested by: Geno

Fletchanator's comment: London were one of the pioneer acts of the Hollywood glam metal scene, having started in 1978, but are perhaps best known for the revolving door of band members who went on to bigger and better things with other bands. Nikki Sixx (Motley Crue) was one of the founding members and others to play with London in the early days included Blackie Lawless (WASP), Fred Coury (Cinderella) and Izzy Stradlin (GNR). The line-up had become more settled by the time of their 1985 debut, Non-Stop Rock, and a year later they released this album (with Coury having left to join Cinderella and Morgan taking over on the skins).
In terms of sound, some of those aforementioned bands are a good reference. They mix the Sunset Strip sleaze rock sound of early Crue, Ratt, LA Guns, GNR etc, with the heavier guitar sound of WASP. The result is a kickass album in its own right - if you've never heard London before, you need to!


No comments: