Thursday, January 21, 2016

Winter Rose - Winter Rose (1989)

Country: Canada
Year: 1989
Line-up: James Labrie (vocals), Richard Chycki (guitars, bass), Randy Cooke (drums)

Track listing:

1.  Asylum City  
2.  I'll Never Fall In Love Again  
3.  Rough Boys  
4.  Dianna  
5.  One Last Time  
6.  Never Let Me Go  
7.  My Time  
8.  Nothing But The Best  
9.  Saved By Love  
10.  Thrill Of The Night   

Fletchanator's comment: If you're like me, the majority of "prog" music just doesn't click with you. It comes off as too self-indulgent for my liking. I own the greatest hits CD of Dream Theater and while I can recognise that they're talented musicians, none of the songs stand out beyond the hit single Pull Me Under. If you can relate, and have ever thought to yourself "man, this band would be great if they just played straight-forward hard rock instead of this weird crap", you're in luck!
Winter Rose is a Canadian glam hard rock band featuring singer James Labrie a couple of years before he took up the job singing for Dream Theater. Labrie (pictured on the left) has an awesome voice, and here - on Winter Rose's only album - we get to hear it backed with killer guitar riffs, gang vocals and all the things that make for great melodic hard rock. It's a shame Labrie had to join Dream Theater (sorry prog metal fans) because Winter Rose are great!


No comments: