Saturday, January 30, 2016

Schoolboy Crush - Electric Playground (1989)

Country: USA
Year: 1989
Line-up: Rance Crane (vocals), Mark Lieberman (guitars), Mikki Champlin (bass), Rusty Scott (drums)

Track Listing:

1.  Get Back Home  
2.  Only in Dreams  
3.  Dream Deceiver  
4.  Hold Your Horses  
5.  Lethal Weapon  
6.  Good As It Gets  
7.  Say You Will, Say You Might  
8.  Tossin' and Turnin'  
9.  Wild and Free  
10.  Spunky  

Fletchanator's comment: This is the debut album by obscure Indiana-based rockers Schoolboy Crush, and the only one to feature singer Rance Crane. Their only other album, a self-titled 1992 follow-up (remastered and re-released by Sun City Records in 2005), had a change of singer and bassist. Good luck getting hold of a physical copy of this album, it's harder to find on CD than the proverbial female chicken's incisors and goes for stupid money when it shows up on eBay.
In terms of sound, Schoolboy Crush play a straight-forward glam hard rock, like a mash-up of Poison, Dokken and Motley Crue. The production values aren't great (on indy label Criminal Records) but if you can look past that there's a lot to like here. Definitely one for the fans of obscure, hard-to-find hard rock.


No comments: