Thursday, July 21, 2016

50SHR #3: Icon (Arizona)


Band: Icon
Release: Night of the Crime
Year: 1985
Line-up: Stephen Clifford (vocals), Dan Wexler (guitars, synth), John Aquilino (guitars), Tracy Wallach (bass), Pat Dixon (drums)

Track Listing:
1. Naked Eyes  4:04
2.  Missing  4:30
3.  Danger Callin'  3:40
4.  Shot at my Heart  3:21
5.  Out for Blood  5:41
6.  Raise the Hammer  3:32
7.  Frozen Tears  3:58
8.  Hungry for Love  4:17
9.  Whites of their Eyes  3:46
10.  Rock my Radio  4:14

Fletchanator's comment: Icon were formed in 1979 under the name The Schoolboys by literally that - a group of schoolboys from Phoenix, Arizona.
Clifford, Wexler and Wallach remained the core of the band as they changed their name to Icon and signed with Capitol Records, Aquilino and Dixon joining in time for their self-titled debut album in 1984. That release was melodic metal, but the following year they changed tack with the AOR-sounding Night of the Crime. Clifford soon left and a new singer joined for another couple of albums, but Clifford has since rejoined in recent years.
As already noted, this album has a more AOR-ish sound than their debut album, with Clifford's vocals having a more smooth sound to them and the incorporation of keyboards and more harmonies. The guitars still rock though, putting this in a melodic hard rock/hard AOR category. It's great stuff, especially on the rockier tunes like Raise the Hammer.
As a bonus I've included the original Schoolboys EP - 1980's Singin' and Shoutin' - in the zip file, so you can hear how this awesome band got started.

No comments: