Wednesday, August 3, 2016

50SHR #13: Cherri Rokkett (Illinois)



Band: Cherri Rokkett
Release: Quality You Can Taste
Year: 1988
Line-up: Robbie Vasquez (vocals), George Adrian (guitars), John Bernardi (bass), John Nardini (drums)

Track Listing:
01. Miss All American
02. Lonely
03. Angel Eyes
04. Cherri Wine (original)
05. Cherri Wine
06. Do you Want me
07. New Way Home
08. Women and Whiskey

Fletchanator's comment: By all accounts Cherri Rokkett were a big deal on the Chicago club scene in the late 80s, packing out venues and gathering quite a following. It's not clear why they didn't go on to bigger things, but as far as I can tell this rare album is all they managed to release. However, that could change soon - on the official Cherri Rokkett facebook page they've been teasing a new release to come out this year some time, while hinting that it will be produced by Chip Z'Nuff of Enuff Z'Nuff.
In terms of sound, Cherri Rokkett remind me of bands like Noize Toys, Black N Blue and Britny Fox with a pinch of Poison (party attitude) and Faster Pussycat (Vasquez's singing) thrown into the pot. The production values on the album aren't great, so here's hoping Cherri Rokkett follow through on their promise of a new release, maybe with remastered or re-recorded versions of the old material.

No comments: