Sunday, August 21, 2016

50SHR #28: Jillson (Nevada)


Band: Jillson
Release: Deadly Girl
Year: 1990
Line-up: Don Jillson (vocals), Terry Ripley (guitars), Dale Borden (bass), Jamie Warren Borden (drums)

Track Listing:
1.  It's Emotion
2.  Deadly Girl
3.  Goodbye
4.  Make Love
5.  Bad Side
6.  All I Can
7.  Again
8.  Take Me
9.  One Thing   
10.  On My Own
11.  Mean What You Say
12.  The End

Fletchanator's comment: Jillson were a four-piece out of Las Vegas who originally released a four-track EP and then this, their only album. It originally came out in 1990 and more recently received a Retrospect Records reissue.
The name of frontman Don Jillson may not mean anything to you, but if you're a diehard hair metal fan you've no doubt heard of Tommy Paris, who replaced Dean Davidson in the band Britny Fox and recorded two studio albums with that band - 1991's Bite Down Hard and 2003's Springhead Motorshark. Why do I mention this? Well, Don Jillson and Tommy Paris are one in the same person.
If you're familiar with Tommy Paris/Don Jillson's singing with Britny Fox (or his solo album, 2009) you know that he has a great voice. Musically Jillson is quite similar to Bite Down Hard-era Britny Fox as well, playing a catchy brand of glammy hard rock. On the ballads Goodbye, Take Me and Mean What You Say they stray into definite AOR territory, ala Chicago or Journey.
It should be noted that this is the original CD release, which doesn't have the three bonus live tracks that Retrospect Records' reissue has.

No comments: