Sunday, April 29, 2007

Heavy Pettin' - Rock ain't Dead [1985]

Country: Scotland
Year: 1985
Line up: Stevie Hayman (vocals), Gordon Bonnar (guitar), Punky Mendoza (guitar), Brian Waugh (bass), Gary Moat (drums).

Track Listing
1. Rock Ain't Dead
2. Sole Survivor
3. China Boy
4. Lost In Love
5. Northwinds
6. Angel
7. Heart Attack
8. Dream Time
9. Walkin' With Angels
10. Throw A Party

Fletchanator's comment: The second album by this Scottish outfit who sound musically a lot like early Def Leppard, but with a vocalist whose high-pitched delivery is quite unique. I rate this album a lot - it's full of great anthemic songs. Lots of fun.

Download (NEW LINK NOV 2015)

White Tiger - White Tiger (1986)

Country: USA
Year: 1986
Line up: David Donato (vocals), Mark St. John (guitar), Michael Norton (bass), Brian James Fox (drums).

Track Listing
1. Rock Warriors
2. Love-Hate
3. Bad Time Coming
4. Runaway
5. Still Standing Strong
6. Live To Rock
7. Northern Wind
8. Stand & Deliver
9. White Hot Desire

Fletchanator's comment: I'm uploading this album in memory of guitarist Mark St John, who died at the age of 51 earlier this month. St John was in KISS for one album (Animalize), before forming White Tiger for this (the band's only) release. White Tiger also features another musician with a brief brush with a famous band - vocalist David Donato, who was in Black Sabbath for a short time in 1985. As for White Tiger, this album isn't one of the best by any stretch of the imagination, but it's solid and is worth listening to just for St John's fast-fingered guitarwork.

Download (NEW LINK NOV 2015)

Thursday, April 26, 2007

Lillian Axe - Self titled (1988)

Country: USA
Year: 1988
Line up: Ron Taylor (vocals), Stevie Blaze (guitar), Jon Ster (guitar), Darrin DeLatte (bass), Tommy Scott (drums).

Track list:

1. Dream Of A Lifetime
2. Inside Out
3. Vision In The Night
4. Picture Perfect
5. The More That You Get
6. Misery Loves Company
7. Nobody Knows
8. Hard Luck
9. Waiting In The Dark
10. Laughing In Your Face

Fletchanator's comment: The debut of this seriously-underrated band that was formed in Louisiana and is still pumping out great music, with a new album due this year. This is straight-forward hard rock/AOR in the vein of Poison and Dokken.

Download (NEW LINK NOV 2015)

Dirty Looks - Cool From the Wire (1987)

Country: USA
Year: 1987
Line up: Henrik Ostergaard (vocals / guitar), Paul Lidel (guitar), Jack Pyers (bass), Gene Barnett (drums).

Track Listing
1. Cool From The Wire
2. It's Not The Way You Rock
3. Can't Take My Eyes Off You
4. Oh Ruby
5. Tokyo
6. Wastin' My Time
7. Put A Spell On You
8. No Brains Child
9. Get It Right
10. It's A Bitch
11. Get Off

Fletchator's comment: The major label debut of this San Francisco-based band, which never really reached the heights they deserved. Ostergaard's vocals are distinctive and sleazy, and overall this is a good, solid album.

Download (NEW LINK NOV 2015)

Welcome to the House of Hairspray, which is aimed at spreading the love for 80s hard rock and hair metal.

I'll be posting albums, mostly stuff that's hard to get these days, but remember, if it is available and you like it, then buy the CD.

House of Hairspray blogmaster