Tuesday, January 29, 2008

Xcursion - Xcursion EP [1983]

Country: USA
Year: 1983
Line-up: Mark Slaughter (vocals/guitar), Al "Rex" Rumley (bass), Anthony White (drums)

Track Listing:
1. Mouthful of Steel
2. Love is Blind
3. Can't Take It
4. Skull Queen

Fletchanator's comment: Okay, this isn't hair metal or hard rock. It's NWOBHM, kind of like a cross between Iron Maiden and Odin. What does make it worthy of this blog is the fact that it featured a young Mark Slaughter in his first band, prior to Vinnie Vincent Invasion and Slaughter. It's a worthy addition to any hair metal collection for that reason.

Shooting Gallery - Shooting Gallery [1992]

Country: Finland/UK
Year: 1992
Line-up: Billy G. Bang (vocals), Andy McCoy (guitar), Dave Tregunna (bass), Paul Garisto (drums)

Track Listing:
1. Restless
2. Teenage Breakdown
3. Nature Of My Business
4. Don't Never Leave Me
5. House Of Ecstacy
6. Little Bit Of Magic
7. I Mess Around
8. Striptease
9. Brown Eyed Girl
10. Devil Calling
11. Leave Me Alone
12. Dandelion

Fletchanator's comment: I've been looking for this album on CD for a few years, and would you believe I found it in the discount bin at a music store? This is the only album by Shooting Gallery, a band most noted because it featured former Hanoi Rocks guitarist Andy McCoy (you'll find Hanoi Rocks' Two Steps from the Move on this blog). It also features former Kill City Dragons singer Billy G Bang (their only album is also on this blog). Unfortunately this doesn't live up to the greatness of Hanoi Rocks, in fact it's not even better than Kill City Dragons. It's sleazy hard rock like those two bands, but doesn't reach the heights of either. Still, it's pretty good and definitely worth adding to your collection if you don't already have it.

Friday, January 18, 2008

Frozen Ghost - Frozen Ghost [1987]

Country: Canada
Year: 1987
Line-up: Arnold Lanni (vocals/guitar/keyboards), Derry Grehan (guitar), Wolf Hassel (bass), John Bouvette (drums)

Track Listing
1. Should I See
2. Promises
3. Beware The Masque
4. Yum Bai Ya
5. Love Like Fire
6. End Of The Line
7. Time Is The Answer
8. Love Without Lies
9. Soldiers Cry
10. Truth In Lies

Fletchanator's comment: Debut from Canadian AOR act Frozen Ghost, formed by former Sheriff members Lanni and Hassel, along with former Honeymoon Suite guitarist Grehan. If you like radio-friendly rock in the vein of Icehouse, Richard Marx and Sheriff, you'll enjoy this.