Sunday, February 3, 2008

Joker - Joker [1990]

Country: USA
Year: 1990
Line-up: Tony Ingala (vocals), Nick Sikich (guitar), Joe Miro (guitar / keyboards), Brian Smolar (bass), Mike Stone (drums)

Track Listing:
1. I Want Love
2. Say Yeah
3. Lorraine
4. Party For Your Life
5. Somewhere In Time
6. She Wants Vengeance
7. Pledge An Allegiance
8. Remember
9. Change
10. Hey Salesman

Request of: Mike

Fletchanator's comment: There's nothing unique about Joker, but the first of two albums they put in the early 90s (followed up by 1992's Cool Deal) is a good effort. The sound is tight party rock, with a vocalist who reminds me of TNT's Tony Harnell. There's some rough edges around the singing, but the guitars are very good. Definitely worth checking out.

Dirty Looks - Gasoline [2007]

Country: USA
Year: 2007
Line-up: Henrik Ostergaard (vocals/guitar), Paul Lidel (guitar), Trevor Huster (bass), Bruce Rivers (drums)

Track List: 1. Doesn't Count The Juice
2. 2nd Chance (Didn't Take It)
3. See You In The Morning
4. Through Your Eyes
5. If The World Stopped Spinning
6. Over Me
7. Stick Around
8. "I Am That I Am"
9. Everythings Gonna Be Alright
10. New White Naked
11. Trick Of The Moon

Fletchanator's comment: I don't usually upload such recent albums, but I was so pumped about Dirty Looks putting out a new album last year, I thought I'd share it. After an absence of 9 years, Henrik and the boys returned with a classic slice of West Coast sleaze rock. While Gasoline doesn't quite measure up to the classics Cool from the Wire and Turn of the Screw, it's a great album. These boys haven't lost anything over the years, and most importantly haven't compromised their sound. The best song is "If the World Stopped Spinning", which is classic Dirty Looks and wouldn't have been out of place on Cool from the Wire. Recommended.