Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Killer Dwarfs - Stand Tall (1987)

Country: Canada
Year: 1987
Line-up: Russ Dwarf (vocals), Mike Dwarf (guitar), Bad Ronbo Dwarf (bass), Darrell Dwarf (drums)

Track Listing:
1.  Stand Tall (Stick to Your Guns)  3:12
2.  Human Survival  4:42
3.  Up to You and Me  4:40
4.  Borderline  3:26
5.  Through Animal Eyes  4:33
6.  Keep the Spirit Alive  4:21
7.  Believe in Me  3:43
8.  Do or Die  4:11
9.  Out on the Streets  3:41
10.  Bite the Hand that Feeds  5:17

Fletchanator's comment: The Killer Dwarfs had enjoyed moderate success in their native Canada with their self-titled 1983 debut album, but it was with this, their follow-up release, that they really broke through internationally. The video to Keep the Spirit Alive became one of the most requested/played on MTV, and some sources say it was the most successful independent release on the channel of all time. That success led to the Dwarfs being signed by Sony/Epic and releasing three more highly-successful albums in 1988, 1990 and 1992, before the band split in 1995 (a reunion happened in 2001, although they're on hiatus now).
The Killer Dwarfs play a fantastic brand of 80s melodic hard rock. Singer Russ Dwarf has a... ahem... killer voice, hitting all sorts of high notes and sounding like a cross between his countrymen Sebastian Bach and Rik Emmett (Triumph). Guitarist Mike Dwarf is also great, with a definite George Lynch sound to his shredding.
This particular rip is of the 2003 Bullseye re-release, but the original 1987 CD goes for ridiculous money online. Even the re-release is highly sought after, and for good reason - this album should be in every hard rock fan's collection!

No comments: