Saturday, August 13, 2016

50SHR #23: Dare Force (Minnesota)



Band: Dare Force
Release: Firepower
Year: 1989
Line-up: Karl Young (vocals), Brian Bart (guitars, keyboards), Johnny O'Neill (guitars), Dean Vallecillo (bass), Paul Peterson (drums).

Track Listing:
1.  Stand Alone  
2.  Firepower  
3.  Cold and Lonely Nights  
4.  Time's Just a Circle  
5.  Hold on Tight  
6.  Middle of the Night  
7.  Walkin' Out the Door  
8.  Give Ya All My Lovin'  
9.  Name of the Game  
10.  Evil Woman  

Fletchanator's comment: Dare Force were an excellent band who came out of the Twin Cities area of Minnesota in the early 80s. They went through a few line-ups, with future Accept/Bangalore Choir vocalist David Reece featuring at one point. By the time they released this, their second album, singer Karl Young had joined and completed one seriously kickass band.
Firepower runs the full gammut of sounds, from melodic metal through to AOR. Most of it is somewhere in the middle, mixing Brian Bart's lightning fast guitar riffs with a smattering of keyboards and outstanding vocal harmonies. Karl Young's voice is eerily reminiscent of Paul Shortino, so if you know Shortino from Rough Cutt and Quiet Riot you know what you're getting - a fantastic voice with a slight rasp and some piercing high notes.
I don't know what happened to the members of this band other than Brian Bart, who is still slinging his axe to this day, having played on two solo albums by ex-Night Ranger singer Kelly Keagy, and Karl Young, who apparently plays covers in Minnesota under the name Mr Whoopee (he has a few videos up on YouTube). Come on guys, how about a reunion?
I love this album and can't recommend it highly enough.

No comments: