Saturday, February 20, 2016

LeRoux - So Fired Up (1983)

Country: USA
Year: 1983
Line-up: Fergie Frederiksen (vocals), Tony Haselden (guitars), Jim Odom (guitars), Leon Medica (bass), David Peters (drums), Rod Roddy (keyboards)

Track Listing:
1.  Turning Point  4:55
2.  Carrie's Gone  3:48
3.  Wait One Minute  4:29
4.  Yours Tonight  3:42
5.  Back in America  3:45
6.  Let Me In  3:55
7.  Lifeline  4:30
8.  Line on Love  3:38
9.  Don't Take It Away  3:18
10.  Look Out  4:12

Fletchanator's comment: This is one for fans of early 80s AOR, along the lines of Toto, Foreigner, Loverboy and Journey. LeRoux (originally Lousiana's LeRoux) had released four albums between 1978 and 1982 with Jeff Pollard on vocals, but he found God and renounced rock 'n' roll music, so in stepped Fergie Frederiksen to take over the microphone. Fergie would stay with LeRoux for just this one album before taking Bobby Kimball's spot in Toto a year later (creating the great album Isolation), another gig that would end short with his firing in 1985. Sadly Fergie died in 2013.
As mentioned above, this is American AOR in every sense of the word. If you like the bands listed above, you'll enjoy this for sure. Fergie had one heck of a voice and the rest of the band is tight.


No comments: