Saturday, December 5, 2015

Sister Whiskey - Liquor & Poker (1993)

Country: USA
Year: 1993
Line-up: Dennis Lee Duncan (vocals), Tyler Gentile (guitar), Jack Aurora (guitar), Rich Florio (bass), Greg E West (drums).

Track listing:
1.  Simple Man  
2.  Can You Satisfy Me  
3.  Moonshine  
4.  Keep Waitin'  
5.  I'd Lie to You for Your Love  
6.  Excuse Me  
7.  Count Me In  
8.  Sleepin' Your Life Away  
9.  Ain't 'Bout Love  
10.  Edge of the Night  
11.  Cryin' Inside  
12.  Don't Cha Know Ya Need It  
13.  Open Your Heart  

Fletchanator's comment: With lyrics like "We'll get some moonshine, grab a six-pack and head to the hills" you know what you're getting with Sister Whiskey - southern hard rock ala Four Horsemen, Black Crowes, Tesla etc. The sound on this, their only major label release (on Warner Bros, produced by Slaughter's Dana Strum), is upbeat and fun, kind of like if you took the aforementioned bands and mixed them with Trixter or Firehouse. The result is a highly-entertaining album that doesn't take itself too seriously. Good stuff!


No comments: