Saturday, January 9, 2016

Boss - Step On It (1984)

Country: Australia
Year: 1984
Line-up: Craig Csongrady (vocals), Kevin Pratt (guitars), Peter Sutcliffe (guitars), Scott Ginn (bass), Joe Tatts (drums).

Track listing:
1.  Kick Ass (Rock 'N Roll)  
2.  That Woman  
3.  Dancin' Queen  
4.  Strange Games  
5.  Hard N' Fast  
6.  Escapee  
7.  Take It or Leave It  
8.  Free Wheelin'  
9.  Cry Cry  
10.  Shake It  

Fletchanator's comment: This is my first ever vinyl rip (so expect some minor problems, like long lead-ins to some songs) and for it I chose Australian hard rockers Boss. Step On It was their only album and had moderate success in Europe, but in their homeland it didn't do so well, so Boss split up not long afterwards. Csongrady and Pratt went on to form the band BB Steal.
In terms of sound, Boss are heavily influenced by Def Leppard (an influence that became even more noticeable with BB Steal). Their sound is a lot like the three Def Lep albums up to that point, with perhaps some ACDC thrown in. Singer Csongrady has an unconventional voice, a mix between Steeler-era Ron Keel and Heavy Pettin's Steve Hayman. It's good stuff, check it out!


No comments: