Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Steeler - Steeler (1983)

Country: USA
Year: 1983
Line-up: Ron Keel (vocals, guitar), Yngwie Malmsteen (lead guitar), Rik Fox (bass), Mark Edwards (drums).

Track listing:
1.  Cold Day in Hell  
2.  Backseat Driver  
3.  No Way Out  
4.  Hot on Your Heels  
5.  Abduction  
6.  On the Rox  
7.  Down to the Wire  
8.  Born to Rock  
9.  Serenade  

Requested by Geno

Fletchanator's comment: Steeler is one of those "lightning in a bottle" bands that came and went in the blink of an eye. For a moment in time singer Ron Keel (who later formed the band Keel) and guitar virtuoso Yngwie Malmsteen were in a band together and the result is kick ass early 80s hard rock/melodic metal. Malmsteen was just 19, freshly arrived in the US from his native Sweden, when he joined Steeler for their only studio album. Add in a solid rhythm section (bassist Fox had briefly been in WASP and would go on to play with everyone from Sin to Johnny Crash, while drummer Edwards went on to the band Lion).
While there's some characteristic Malmsteen noodling (like on Hot on Your Heels), for the most part this album is free of the over-indulgence that would mark his later career. The overall sound is close to Keel's first two albums, Lay Down the Law and The Right to Rock - raw-edged melodic metal. If you don't have this in your collection you need to change that right now!


No comments: