Friday, January 22, 2016

Shark Island - Law of the Order (1989)

Country: USA
Year: 1989
Line-up: Richard Black (vocals), Spencer Sercombe (guitars), Chris Heilmann (bass), Greg Ellis (drums)

Track listing:
1.  Paris Calling  
2.  Shake for Me  
3.  Somebody's Falling  
4.  Bad for Each Other  
5.  Passion to Ashes  
6.  Spellbound  
7.  Get Some Strange  
8.  Why Should I Believe  
9.  Ready or Not  
10.  The Chain  

Fletchanator's comment: Shark Island were an LA scene band that were predicted for big things but for whatever reason it never panned out. Probably their biggest moment in the spotlight was having two songs included on the soundtrack of the movie Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure. Singer Richard Black went on to front the supergroup Contraband (you can find that band's only album on this blog), but otherwise Shark Island (originally Sharks) have faded into obscurity.
Black gets mentioned in hard rock circles for his supposed influence on the on-stage style of Axl Rose (check out this live video from 1990:, but in terms of voice he sounds like a cross between Ian Astbury and Tom Keifer.
This is Shark Island's second studio album and easily their best. Highlights are Spellbound, Shake for Me, Paris Calling and the cover of Fleetwood Mac's The Chain. If you're a fan of bands like Cinderella, Ratt and (of course) Contraband you'll dig this.


No comments: