Monday, January 25, 2016

Vain - All Those Strangers (1991)

Country: USA
Year: 1991/2009
Line-up: Davy Vain (vocals), Danny West (guitars), James Scott (guitars), Ashley Mitchell (bass), Tom Rickard (drums)

Track listing:
1.  Love Drug  
2.  Planet's Turning  
3.  Shooting Star  
4.  Too Bad  
5.  Far Away  
6.  Wake Up  
7.  Freak Flag  
8.  Here Comes Lonely  
9.  Shouldn't Cry  
10.  Do You Sleep With Strangers?  
11.  Looking Glass  

Fletchanator's comment: The follow-up to Vain's stellar 1989 debut No Respect (currently the most-downloaded album on this blog) was recorded in 1991. However, the band's label, Island Records, was bought out by Polygram before the album could be released. Vain were dropped by the new label bosses and the recordings never saw the light of day - that is until Davy Vain self-released the album in 2009.
If you're a fan of No Respect (and why wouldn't you be?) you will love All Those Strangers, as it continues with the same vibe and sound as the debut album, full of sleazy guitar licks and Davy Vain's uniquely-distinctive voice. You need this!


No comments: