Sunday, March 13, 2016

Black Rose (UK) - Walk It How You Talk It (1987)

Country: UK
Year: 1987
Line-up: Steve Bardsley (vocals, guitars), Pat O'Neill (guitars), Gary Todd (guitars, keyboards), Mick Thompson (bass), Barry Youll (drums)

Track Listing:
1.  Shout It Out  
2.  E.Z.L.Y.  
3.  Honestly Love You  
4.  Don't Fall In Love  
5.  Party Animal  
6.  Want Your Love  
7.  California U.S.A.  
8.  Walk It How You Talk It  
9.  Bright Lights Burnin'  

Fletchanator's comment: There are two hard rock bands called Black Rose - one from Denmark and this UK outfit. This band started out with the name Ice in the late 70s, before changing their name. They were NWOBHM early on, including on their debut album (not available on CD). But by the time their second album rolled around in 1987, they had softened their sound to be more melodic, incorporating keyboards and radio-friendly hooks. Even singer Steve Bardsley had changed his singing style, softening the gravelly edge and hitting more high notes.
This album is extremely hard to find on CD - it sells on eBay for hundreds of dollars. But is it any good? Well, yes it is. I really, really like this album and have played it a lot over the years. It reminds me of a mix between Quiet Riot and High 'N Dry-era Def Leppard - melodic but not overly glammy. It's good stuff - check it out because you're unlikely to ever get hold of the CD!


No comments: