Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Paris - Before They Were Poisoned (1984)

Country: USA
Year: 1984
Line-up: Brett Michaels (vocals), Matt Smith (guitars), Bobby Dall (bass), Rikki Rockett (drums).

Track Listing:
1. Looks That Kill 04:34  
2. We Belong to the Night 04:21  
3. Lipstick Killer 02:59  
4. Lightning Strikes    04:19  
5. Let's Get Crazy 03:07  
6. Sweet Girl 05:09  
7. Hot Shot 04:00  
8. DOA 04:47  
9. Top Dogs 04:42  
10.  Strutter 02:50  
11.  Jack You Know 03:42  
12.  Get It On    03:42  
13.  You Got Another Thing Coming   04:46  
14.  Night School 03:38
15.  Rock Rock Tonight 05:21
16.  Shout at the Devil 03:22

Fletchanator's comment: As promised, here is the third and final of the poll winners. This is the band Poison when they were still known as Paris and playing covers in small clubs throughout Pennsylvania. These particular live recordings are from a show at a club in Old Forge, PA on January 15, 1984. They feature original guitarist Matt Smith, who would be replaced by CC Deville soon after their move to California and prior to the release of their first album in 1986.
As live bootleg recordings go these are pretty good quality. On them Paris play covers by a variety of bands, including Motley Crue, UFO, Van Halen, Judas Priest and KISS. They also play their first "single", Hot Shot. It's surprising how much they sound like the megastar band they would become, minus of course CC Deville's shredding (Smith is a good guitarist in his own right though).
Definitely a must-have for Poison fans and for any fans of glam hard rock who are curious about what one of the biggest bands of the 80s originally sounded like.

No comments: