Monday, March 7, 2016

Pride of Lions - Pride of Lions (2003)

Country: USA
Year: 2003
Line-up: Toby Hitchcock (vocals), Jim Peterik (guitars, vocals, keyboards), Mike Aquino (guitars), Clem Hayes (bass), Ed Breckenfield (drums), Hilary Jones (drums), Christian Cullen (keyboards)

Track Listing:
1.  It's Criminal  4:55  
2.  Gone  4:36  
3.  Interrupted Melody  4:09  
4.  Sound Of Home  4:30  
5.  Prideland  6:16  
6.  Unbreakable  5:04  
7.  First Time Around The Sun  5:10 
8.  Turn To Me  4:48  
9.  Madness Of Love  6:19  
10.  Love Is On The Rocks  4:27  
11.  Last Safe Place  4:39  
12.  Music And Me  5:20  

Fletchanator's comment: Formed by ex-Survivor guitarist/keyboardist Jim Peterik, Pride of Lions released seven albums between 2003 and 2012, starting with this self-titled debut. With Peterik (who co-wrote most of Survivor's big hits, including Eye of the Tiger) the driving force behind the band, it's natural that this band ends up sounding like his old outfit. Young singer Toby Hitchcock sounds a lot like Bobby Kimball from Toto, and some of the songwriting borders on Chicago material, so this is definitely one for fans of polished, hook-laden 80s-style AOR.

No comments: