Saturday, March 19, 2016

Rox Diamond - Rox Diamond (1992)

Country: USA
Year: 1992
Line-up: Paul Daniels (vocals, keyboards), Kevin Bach (guitars), Ricky Falco (bass), Dwain Miller (drums).

Track Listing:
1.  Heart of Mine  3:29
2.  Nothin' I Won't Do  4:03
3.  Familiar Strangers  4:44
4.  Never Too Late  3:47
5.  Forever Yours  4:07
6.  Get the Lead Out of My Heart  3:39
7.  You're Not the Only One  4:50
8.  Lovin' You  3:42
9.  One Way Street  5:00
10.  Face to Face  3:35
11.  You'll Get What's Coming  3:27

Fletchanator's comment: LA-based Rox Diamond were originally known as Casanova (with a different drummer), but changed the name because of an existing band with the same name in Germany. After asking their original drummer to leave due to performance issues, they added ex-Keel stickman Dwain Miller and recorded this, their debut album. It was originally released in Japan, then Europe. Like a lot of similar bands, they had the rug pulled out from under them by the arrival of grunge, although this line-up has reunited in recent years and started playing and recording together again.
Despite a name that suggests a sleazy sound, Rox Diamond play AOR-ish melodic hard rock. You can definitely hear the influence of bands like Journey and Kansas, but the best comparison I could make is that they sound like Winger if Paul Stanley of KISS took over as singer. It's definitely good stuff, with catchy keyboard riffs, lots of vocal harmonies and some solid guitar work.

No comments: